Call us to book
Call Us
029 2082 9970
Find us
Cardiff International White Water
Watkiss Way
Cardiff Bay
CF11 0SY

This year’s United Kingdom Rescue Organisation (UKRO) Challenge has begun taking over Roald Dahl Plas in Cardiff Bay, as it makes its debut in Wales.

More than 600 of the UK’s most skilled firefighters are set to compete in staged rescues that will take place in Cardiff International White Water and around Roald Dahl Plas in Cardiff Bay. The UKRO Challenge is unrivalled for showcasing the incredible skill and commitment of global-wide emergency service personnel, replicating real-life emergency scenarios across a host of disciplines such as vehicle extraction, trauma care, urban search and rescue, rope rescue and water rescue.

With teams set to compete from across the country, UKRO’s aim this year is to drive the national agenda on road death reduction by showcasing professional vehicle extraction and highlighting many other highly skilled rescue disciplines.

Hosting this year’s challenge is South Wales Fire and Rescue Service, and Cardiff International White Water is the dedicated challenge venue from 28th- 30th September 2018.

Entry to the Super Safety Village in Roald Dahl Plas is free, and it is open between 10am – 5pm across the weekend. On-site activities on site organised by South Wales Police, Welsh Ambulances Service, Water Safety Wales, Techniquest and Sports Cardiff. The Red Devils Parachute Regiment Freefall Team will also put on a display.

Free workshops will exploring water safety, seed balls looking at environmental awareness and pyro writing exploring the safe use of fire. On Sunday 30th, the first 5k Tunnel to Towers Run will take place in honour of the dedication and sacrifice of emergency services personnel – and firefighters taking part will do so in full kit.

Our local Bridgend Extraction Team have been crowned the worthy winners in recent years, taking home the World and UK Champion titles in 2016 and 2017.

We look forward to watching the action and seeing who will be this year's champions!